World Cup 2018 prize money: Fifa increases financial offering to $400m

Joe Hall
Follow Joe
Germany won $35m in 2014

The winning team at next year's World Cup in Russia will be awarded a record $38m (£29m) in prize money, after world football governing body Fifa boosted its financial offering to record levels.

A total prize money pool of $400m represents a 12 per cent increase on the $358m paid out to teams at the 2014 World Cup in Brazil, where victors Germany received $35m.

The money is paid to a nation's football association, who will have negotiated their own financial agreements with their players.

Fifa president Gianni Infantino said the prize money increase represented "a positive sign in terms of the healthy financial situation of Fifa", despite the organisation's $369m loss in 2016.

Ahead of the World Cup, each competing team will be paid $1.5m to cover preparation costs.

Finish 2014 WC prize money 2018 WC prize money
Winner 35 38
Runner-up 25 28
3rd 22 24
4th 20 22
Quarter-finals 14 16
Last 16 9 12
Group stage 8 8

Once in Russia, each of the 32 teams will be guaranteed a participation fee of $8m. Progressing through to the first knock-out stage boosts the prize to $9m while a quarter-final finish is worth $14m.

In the much-derided third place play-off, $42m is shared between the two sides with the victor taking home $22m.

Runners-up in the final can console themselves with a $25m prize as the winners enjoy their $38m.

The final round of qualifying for the tournament takes place next month but 22 of the 32 competing nations have been confirmed, while some big names such as the USA and Holland have already failed to make the cut.

Related articles