Brexit: These are the MPs who have submitted no confidence letters to the 1922 Committee

Joe Curtis
Follow Joe
Brexit Agreement Leads To Government Minister Resignations
Mogg delivered his letter yesterday, claiming May's Brexit deal doesn't deliver on what voters wanted (Source: Getty)

The number of MPs who have admitted to sending no confidence letters in Prime Minister Theresa May surpassed more than 20 today as the threat of a no confidence vote grows.

A total of 48 letters must be sent to Sir Graham Brady, chair of the influential backbench 1922 Committee in order to trigger such a vote.

Here are all the MPs who have publicly declared they have submitted letters so far.

Many more could have sent them privately, and only Sir Graham will know.

Chris Green

Green confirmed this afternoon that he has sent a letter to the committee, saying on Twitter: "With a heavy heart, I confirm that I have put my letter in calling for a vote of no confidence in the Prime Minister, Theresa May.

"My constituents want a clean break from the European Union, taking back control of our laws, our borders, our money and our trade. The withdrawal proposal from the Prime Minister will not help deliver that result."

Mark Francois

Saying this is “something I thought I would never do”, Francois’s letter was titled “She Just Doesn’t Listen”.

Jacob Rees-Mogg​

Announcing he had submitted his letter yesterday, Mogg said it was “harder to leave this backstop than it is to leave the EU”.

Ben Bradley

Bradley became the 20th Tory MP to submit a letter this morning.

Steve Baker

The former minister announced his letter yesterday, saying: “We’ve tried everything to change policy but not the prime minister, but it has not worked.

“It is too late – we need a new leader.”

Peter Bone

Having submitted his letter some time ago, Bone told the BBC yesterday: “I've always wanted the policy to change not necessarily the prime minister but when the prime minister won't change the policy the only way to change the policy is to change the prime minister.”

Andrea Jenkyns

"She can fight it. But I am confident she will not win it. Time to save Brexit and our party with a new leader,"

Philip Davies

Another who submitted his letter some time ago, he reportedly told constituents: “Many people have told me that as a result of this they have lost trust in the PM to properly and fully deliver the referendum result. It is with much sadness that I have to say that I have also lost trust in her to deliver the referendum result too.”

Nadine Dorries

Dorries submitted her letter some weeks ago, saying: “The writing has been on the wall for some time.”

Andrew Bridgen

Having submitted his letter long ago in July, Bridgen reportedly said: “All we have asked from the Prime Minister, is that she sticks to what she has promised on repeated occasions when she declared that 'Brexit means Brexit' and pledged to take back control of our money, borders and laws. But it now appears those promises are all a pretence and a charade intended to dupe the electorate.”

Martin Vickers

Another who sent a letter in July, Vickers told local media: “It was clear at that time further concessions were inevitable and now we have a much worse agreement that fails to deliver what my constituents voted for in the referendum.”

James Duddridge

Duddridge submitted his letter in October, telling Sky News:

"I don't know any Conservative MPs that expect Theresa May to be leading us in the next general election.

“Given that's the case, let's get on, let's make the change now and let's get someone that believes in Brexit delivering Brexit.”

Adam Holloway

Holloway submitted his letter yesterday, posting on Facebook: "My letter of No Confidence has now been delivered - with regret. Mrs May is a remarkable woman - just look at her fortitude today in the House of Commons, even more please remember her long career of public service.

“But as we see from the events of today, you can not have someone leading a mission who does not believe in the mission. The country needs Leadership.”

Anne Marie Morris

Yesterday Morris told the BBC she believes the 48 letters have been sent, meaning a vote can be triggered.

“Now the one thing which is going to be a bit of a challenge is some of the letters have gone in on a conditional basis. MPs have said you can use this letter but only when I say so,” Morris said.

John Whittingdale

The former culture secretary told the BBC this morning that he has submitted a letter.

Laurence Robertson

He admitted to BBC Radio Gloucestershire that he sent a letter “months ago”.

Lee Rowley

“I've written that because sadly I have come to the conclusion that the prime minister isn't going to change her policy and I wish she would,” he told ITV.

Sheryll Murray

"I have lost confidence in the Brexit policy of the Prime Minister and have therefore written to the Chairman of the 1922 Committee asking for a vote to take place over her leadership," she said on Twitter.

Henry Smith

Smith tweeted a picture of letter yesterday afternoon.

Simon Clarke

Clarke yesterday confirmed he submitted a letter.

Maria Caulfield

Caulfield quit her role as vice-chair of the Conservative Party over summer.

On Twitter on Wednesday she said she would vote against the deal

Marcus Fysh

Tory MP Marcus Fysh is said to have submitted a letter this afternoon, according to reports from the Telegraph's Christopher Hope.

Fysh voted to leave the European Union in the 2016 referendum, and has previously supported the #StandUp4Brexit pledge.